“Any Case”: a probably better Englishing than mine of Wisława Szymborska’s “Wszelki wypadek”

I think it’s good that there are many different translations of good poems. Each is a somehow unique experience. I’ve just been sent this one & feel the need to share it.
ANY  case Wislawa crop nnote
It’s probably better & closer to the original than my 2nd attempt; my 1st one appears beside the Polish original of Wszelki wypadekMy feel for nuances of Polish (which I haven’t spoken, read or written for many many decades) cannot be what it is for nuances of IsraeliHebrew or of English. Yet this poem by Szymborska so spoke to me that I felt I needed to English it as I felt it & also to share it.

 

Leave a Reply

