Kei Miller: for me a new discovery, a new voice, & his Rastaman mapping of a way to Zion

the mapmaker’s work is to make visible
all them things that shoulda never exist in the first place
like the conquest of pirates, like borders,
like the viral spread of government.

In this morning’s The Guardian I found this news item, which got me reading more & then I shared it & the following YouTube video of his reading the poem mentioned in it on Facebook, & feel I should also immediately share both of them with those of my readers who don’t see my Facebook posts. If you click on the titles in these posts they will open their content, so you can read the whole article & see & hear Kei Miller reading this major poem.

& he’s been around for a while. you can google his name & find lots more.

& see also:
http://magmapoetry.com/blog-review-37-bethany-pope-reviews-the-cartographer-tries-to-map-a-way-to-zion-by-kei-miller/

 

Leave a Reply

