Canto, Cantiamo (I sing, Let’s sing), to/for/with Palestine (Israeland)

Canto, I sing
Cantiamo, let’s sing
to/for/with Palestine
(Israeland)
 
between the River
& the Sea
 
between the Victor
& the Victim
 
canto, I sing,
for I have no God to pray to,
for I do believe
there’s only us humans
doing what humans
keep doing to humans
& life on our planet
 
& singing can be music
to soothe the seething soul
& poetry
to light or delight
or enlighten
the less-seeing mind
& to touch or to move
the less-feeling heart
 
To/for/with Palestine
which has long been
& is & always will be
also Israeland
I sing, for tho
after my almost 40 years there
I no longer live there,
I’m a Palestinian & Israelander
at heart & mind & soul
 
a Hebrew-speaking
Jewish-Israeli
Palestinian
 
&/but I sing to/for/with
all of Palestine (Israeland)
& to/for/with
every Palestinian (Israelander)
every one, be they
Palestinian-Arabic speaking
or Israeli-Hebrew speaking
born (& their descendants)
or naturalized (& their descendants)
in Palestine
since the British Mandate began
 
& I sing for peace & for sharing
in this pain-stricken land
between the River & the Sea
& for humane reconciliation
between the Victor & the Victim
in this one country, one land
where most Palestinians (Israelanders)
have no other country, no other land
 
in this land which is holy
to so many religious
Muslims, Christians, Jews
the birthland of millions
of inhabitants, exiles,
& refugees
 
this land I loved
to be in, walk in, swim in,
live in, while & though,
while & though, hating
Israelstate’s oppression
of Arab Palestinians
 
to/for/with first & foremost
those who resist this oppression
& those who suffer directly from it
among all the oppressed & all the oppressors
& then to/for/with all Palestinians (Israelanders)
in all the rippling circles around them
wherever they live, however they’re living
(& online media show & tell me a lot)
 
& I sing for a state
where the Arabic & Hebrew nations
can speak, & read, & create
in their own languages,
& I sing for a state
to which all exiled Palestinians
have automatic right of return
& non-Palestinian(Israelander) Jews do not.
 
I sing for a Palestinian(Israelander) state
transcending all the longrunning fear & greed & hate.
 
For a non-Zionist bi-national state
of Palestine (Israeland)
I sing
 
for singing is still permissible
& singing can be music
to soothe the seething soul
& poetry
to light or delight
or enlighten
the less-seeing mind
& to touch or to move
the less-feeling heart

canto2

Leave a Reply

