reminiscences come / with donovan Updated/Upgraded

Yesterday I posted a poem i wrote in which my lines embraced the verses of Donovan’s song “Sand and Foam”.
I have now updated & upgraded it, by emphasizing the lines I wrote (to which I’ve now added a couple) in bold type, while leaving Donovan’s lines in italics,
I also recommend that as or before or after you read, you click on the blue link in the 7th line, & listen to a recording of Donovan singing this song.

donovansf45 crop

 

reminiscences come
with donovan
from decades back
now via pandora
a song not heard so long
o how i dug
sand and foam
The sun was going down behind a tattooed tree
And the simple act of an oar’s stroke put diamonds in the sea
And all because of the phosphorus there in quantity
As I dug you diggin’ me in Mexico.

yes &
There in the valley of Scorpio, beneath the cross of jade
Smoking on the seashell pipe the gypsies had made
We sat and we dreamed a while of smugglers bringing wine
In that crystal thought time in Mexico.

yes & all the rest
often remembered
in some parallel paradise
abundant in scintillating particles
& with wholly other lovely beings
light years away from Mexico
but not without acid, not without grass

Sitting in a chair of bamboo, sipping grenadine,
Straining my eyes for a surfacing submarine.
Kingdoms of ants walk across my feet,
I’m a-shakin’ in my seat in Mexico

Grasshoppers creaking in the velvet jungle night,
Microscopic circles in the fluid of my sight,
Watching a black-eyed native girl cut and trim the lamp,
Valentino vamp in Mexico.

The sun was going down behind a tattooed tree
And the simple act of an oar’s stroke put diamonds in the sea
And all because of the phosphorus there in quantity
As I dug you diggin’ me in Mexico.

reminiscences come
as do responses
to things hard & soft
happening elsewheres
& hopes or anxieties
about what may or not happen
& awarenesses of needs
&/or of occurrences,
presences, absences
in herenows so fleet

& i’m diggin’ some
& i’m achin’ some
& i’m givin’ some
& i’m takin’ some

 

Leave a Reply

