Blessings & Correcting/Repairing an Error / Chapter 1: There is (& there really was, & still will be) Another Zionism

ברכות ותיקון טעות1 meme

I’m posting this in Hebrew today, & here’s my English translation [with a few added remarks in square brackets]:

For my 80th birthday (2.6.2016, or as I like to write the date, 160603) I received lots of blessings & lots of love on Facebook, many of them from my Israeli-Jewish friends, & mostly from those living today in what we call [in Israeli Hebrew, simply, though not without a mostly unadmitted arrogance] “The Land”. & here I was thinking that with all my as-it-were anti-Zionist posts & my not-as-it-were pro-Free-Palestine-Israeland posts I’d already lost many of my Israeli friends on Facebook. But the blessings [& I’m happy here to translate the Hebrew word for messages of good wishes & love rather than use any other English word I know] that I received open a way for me to speak with you, with everyone who blessed me, to tell you about the blessings I feel I’m blessed with & about those I want to convey to you, but first of all about what troubles & preoccupies me – and about why it does – about what is happening in [“]the Land [“], and first off to convey to you a correction/repair of a long-lasting error of thinking that I only understood about a week ago, & that I’ve started to think that this understanding perhaps opens a new way for understanding the tangle and for cleaning up the discourse & perhaps (is this demented?) for fruitful activism for a just solution for all sides.

My error (& that of many in the world who oppose the ongoing occupation) appears in a sentence of mine in a recent post:
“[T]he real foundation of Israeli-Jewish fascism is Zionism itself, the idea that one can create a Jewish homeland with Jewish sovereignty over the homeland of its non-Jewish inhabitants.”

But while writing a reply to a comment I received about this anti-Zionist sentence ([more] about the comment in future chapters) I recalled the old dispute between “Tzionut Ma’asit”, “Practical Zionism” (whose followers formed the “Brit Shalom” [“Covenant of Peace”] in the 1920s) and “Tzionut Medinit”, “Statist Zionism” [this term is usually translated as “Political Zionism”, but in the Hebrew of Medinat Yisrael, the State of Israel, the word medini really means “statist”]. I refreshed my memory in the chronicles of those days, & then I understood that I should have written:

“[T]he real foundation of Israeli-Jewish fascism is Statist Zionism, the idea that one can create a Jewish homeland with Jewish sovereignty over the homeland of its non-Jewish inhabitants.”

Because there is (& there really was, & still will be) another Zionism:

Practical Zionism, the idea that one can create a Jewish homeland without Jewish sovereignty over the homeland of its non-Jewish inhabitants.”

Without Jewish sovereignty. Since its beginning with the Hovevei Tzion movement (1881), this is how Practical Zionism was active under the Ottoman imperial regime & the British Mandatory regime, and this is how it is active, mostly not aware of itself as opposed to the Statist Zionist state, under its regime of expulsion, occupation, separation and oppression. That’s how it seems to me. & it seems to me that from its beginnings, & in principle, it is Statist Zionism that, in an inevitable process, creates this Jewish-Israeli fascism.

This understanding, this distinction, gives me hope. More to come, goodness willing. & in the meantime I hope you’ll respond. Let’s talk.

Leave a Reply

