A MESSAGE TO ALL JEWS EVERYWHERE, FROM IMAD ABUSHAMSIYA (who videoed the murder of Abd al-Fattah al-Sharif by Israeli soldier Elor Azaria in Hebron on March 24, 2016

“My message is to all the Jews, [calling them] to raise their voices and to say that those who are committing these crimes every day against my people, against me and against my family, do not represent Judaism, that they are the despicable face of the Israeli Occupation.

“Our message is that we are acting to achieve justice and liberty for our people, without bloodshed, but with resistance in peaceful ways, and documentation of the truth by means of the camera.”


These sentences are from the conclusion of Imad Abushamsiya’s message as posted in Hebrew by Tamar Goldschmidt. I’ve translated the message in the hope that his call will be heeded & responded to by many Jews everywhere – & not only by those who adhere to the Judaist religion. I, as one of many non-Judaist, secular, Jews (& who has neither the qualifications nor the interest to say what does or does not represent Judaism), hereby raise my voice to say that those who are committing these crimes do not represent Jews, or Jewry – they are indeed the despicable face only of the settler-colonist apartheidist Zionist Israeli occupation of Palestine.

Below is my translation of Tamar’s Hebrew intro & her translation from Arabic:

Sent to me by my Facebook friends Imad Abushamsiya and Badee Dwaik, whose lives are being made hell by settlers with the army’s help (or vice versa).

imad2

I’m Imad Abushamsiya عماد ابو شمسيةfrom Hebron. I met the well-known activist Badee alDwaik بديع الدويك, and together we started the Human Rights Defenders تجمع المدافعين عن حقوق الانسان organization. Our goal was to expose the truth (by means of pictures and documentation) of the Occupation’s crimes and injuries, as part of the non-violent struggle against the Occupation – a legitimate right according to international law.We set up a project that we called “Capturing the Occupation on Video”. Ten months ago we received a donation of four cameras from American activists, some of them Jewish. This was after they raided Badee’s home, destroyed its contents, smashed the camera with which he was documenting the raid and the fear gripping his family and his children.

I documented several cases of injury, the most important being the documentation of the murder of Abd al-Fattah al-Sharif عبد الفتاح الشريف.

The goal was to expose the Occupation’s crimes, not to defame the Jews, because we are against injuries to Jews or to any other religion or faith. We believe that our problem is not with the Judaism but with the Occupation.

After I documented this event on video my life totally turned about. Death threats against myself and my family started reaching in anonymous phone calls, on Facebook and in other written incitements made up by known settlers in Hebron. one of the known settlers in Hebron, one of the most aggressive of them – whose name I don’t want to mention here – threatened my life and that of my friend Badee. I had to sleep away from my home for several nights in order to protect my family frim a fate of murder, because we received a threat that a fate like that of the Dawabshe family awaits them. And since then several soldiers have started harassing me and constricting my life and they’re trying to punish everyone who tries to visit me or to prevent them from visiting me, The last time this happened was when they prevented the activist Badee from passing through the area after he left my home the night of the fourth day of Eid al-Adha.

My message is to all the Jews, [calling them] to raise their voices and to say that those who are committing these crimes every day against my people, against me and against my family, do not represent Judaism, that they are the despicable face of the Israeli Occupation.

Our message is that we are acting to achieve justice and liberty for our people, without bloodshed, but with resistance in peaceful ways, and documentation of the truth by means of the camera.

Leave a Reply

